Endowed Chairs

Date Established Name of Chair Established By Current Chair
1982 The Martin Sisters Endowed Chair in Medical Research and Public Health Alice Martin Patrick Bradshaw
1988 The King Sweesy and Robert Womack Endowed Chair in Medical Research and Public Health Alice Martin Sarah Stanley
1992 Fred H. Bixby, Jr. Endowed Chair in Population and Family Planning Fred H. Bixby, Jr. Foundation Ndola Prata
1997 Henry J. Kaiser Endowed Chair in Organized Health Systems Kaiser Permanente Hector Rodriguez
1997 The Blue Cross of California Distinguished Professorship of Health Policy and Management Blue Cross of California Stephen Shortell
1999 Distinguished Chair in Health Economics and Public Policy State of California Richard Scheffler
2001 Kenneth Howard and Marjorie Witherspoon Kaiser Endowed Chair in Cancer Epidemiology Kenneth and Marjorie Kaiser Martyn Smith
2002 The Brian and Jennifer Maxwell Endowed Chair in Public Health Brian and Jennifer Maxwell  Brenda Eskenazi
2003 Endowed Chair in Geriatric Medicine State of California (via the Geriatrics Medical Education Training Act of 2000) and the University of California William Jagust
2005 The Kaiser Permanente Endowed Chair in Health Policy and Management Kaiser Permanente Will Dow
2006 Jiann-Piang Hsu and Karl E. Peace Endowed Chair in Biostatistics Dr. Karl E. Peace Mark van der Laan
2007 Chancellor's Chair UC Berkeley John Colford
2009 Edward E. Penhoet Distinguished Endowed Chair in Global Health and Infectious Disease Friends and colleagues of Edward E. Penhoet; matched by the Hewlett Foundation Daniel Portnoy
2010 Leonard D. Schaeffer Endowed Chair in Health Economics and Policy Leonard D. Schaeffer James C. Robinson