School faculty and lecturers honored for teaching excellence

January 27, 2015

CoTE honoreesIn January, the School’s Committee on Teaching Excellence (CoTE) honored UC Berkeley School of Public Health educators who received high student evaluation marks for their instruction during the Spring 2014 semester. To receive the award, the faculty members or lecturers were required to have taught a course with an enrollment of five or more students that included an evaluation of student performance through an exam, project, or other assignment. The instructors had to receive an average of 6 or higher on their evaluations.

CoTE was established by the Faculty Council in May 2013. One of the committee’s charges was to establish a forum for annual recognition of School of Public Health faculty members and lecturers for teaching excellence. Recognition will take place each semester.

“Effective teaching is among our most important responsibilities,” said Lisa Barcellos, associate professor and CoTE chair. “It’s central to our School’s mission to train both current and future members of the public health workforce, and to develop diverse leaders for professional and research careers.”

The faculty members and lecturers honored for teaching excellence in Spring 2014 are:

Sandrine Dudoit 
Alan Hubbard
Nick Jewell
Maureen Lahiff
David Lein
Steve Selvin
Deryk Van Brunt

Community Health Sciences
Barbara Abrams
Xóchitl Castañeda
Karuna Chibber
Julianna Deardorff
Sonja Dublin
Lia Fernald
Sarah Gamble
Sylvia Guendelman
Jodi Halpern
Kim Harley
Denise Herd
Seth Holmes
Ernest Hook
William Jagust
Meredith Minkler
Linda Neuhauser
Doug Oman
Emily Ozer
Malcolm Potts
Ndola Prata
William Satariano
Len Syme

Doctor of Public Health
Joan Bloom
Norm Constantine
Amani Nuru-Jeter
Cheri Pies

Environmental Health Sciences
Lisa Barcellos
Katharine Hammond
Nina Holland
Michael Jerrett
Amy Kyle
Sa Liu
Charlotte Smith
Martyn Smith
Luoping Zhang

Jennifer Ahern
Lisa Barcellos
Heidi Bauer
Kyle Bernstein
Ralph Catalano
Maria Ekstrand
Scott Lee
Sandra McCoy
Amani Nuru-Jeter
Nancy Padian
Art Reingold
William Satariano

Health Policy & Management
Joan Bloom
Timothy Brown
William Dow
Brent Fulton
Jacqueline Brooks Hanel
Ann Keller
Jeff Oxendine
Hector Rodriguez
Richard Scheffler
Stephen Shortell

Infectious Disease & Vaccinology/Infectious Diseases & Immunity
Gertrude Buehring
Vishnu Chaturvedi
Fenyong Liu 
Kathy Loretz
Daniel Portnoy
Lee Riley
Sarah Stanley
John Swartzberg

Annke Hemmerling
Nap Hosang
Phuoc Le
Kris Madsen
Jaspal Sandhu

On-Campus/Online MPH
Michael Bates
Robyn Gershon
Nap Hosang
Amy Kyle
Jaspal Sandhu
Stephen Shortell

Public Health Nutrition
Barbara Abrams
Lia Fernald

UC Berkeley-UCSF Joint Medical Program 
Harrison Alter
Lela Bachrach
Jennifer Breckler
Hana Dan-Cohen
Jodi Halpern
Susan Ivey
Kris Madsen
Guy Micco
Tim Nicholls
Kent Olson
Rich Quint
Jeff Schonberg
Karen Sokal-Gutierrez
Ann Stevens
Melanie Thomas