Faculty and lecturers recognized for engaging students in learning

June 1, 2015

SPH faculty membersIn May, the School’s Committee on Teaching Excellence (CoTE) honored UC Berkeley School of Public Health educators who received high student evaluation marks for their instruction during the fall 2014 semester. To receive the award, the faculty members or lecturers were required to have taught a course with an enrollment of five or more students that included an evaluation of student performance through an exam, project, or other assignment. The instructors had to receive an average of 6 or higher on their evaluations.

CoTE was established by the School's Faculty Council in 2013. One of the committee’s charges was to establish a forum for annual recognition of School of Public Health faculty members and lecturers for teaching excellence. Recognition will take place each semester.

“Our committee is very excited about the teaching excellence we are observing and able to report for our School,” said Lisa Barcellos, associate professor and CoTE chair. “Our mission in the School as educators is to provide high quality education to our students. We must continue to seek ways to improve and implement innovative strategies to engage our undergraduate and graduate students in learning. We are proud of our many colleagues in the School who are committed to this important mission.”

The faculty members and lecturers honored for teaching excellence in Fall 2014 are:

Alan Hubbard
Nicholas Jewell
Maya Petersen
David Risso
Mark Van Der Laan

Community Health Sciences
Audrey Cristobal
Ron Dahl
Julianna Deardorff
Lori Dorfman
Brenda Eskenazi
Darlene Francis
Sylvia Guendelman
Seth Holmes
Barbara Laraia
Kristine Madsen
Emily Ozer
Cheri Pies
Malcolm Potts
Ndola Prata
Ahna Suleiman
Linda Wilbrecht

Environmental Health Sciences
John Balmes
Michael Bates
Asa Bradman
Sadie Castello
Charlotte Chang
Ellen Eisen
Robert Harris
Nina Holland
Jim Seward
Charlotte Smith
Martyn Smith
Suzanne Teran

Barbara Abrams
Ray Catalano
Jack Colford
Wayne Enanoria
Brenda Eskenazi
Hildy Fong
Stephen Francis
Jodi Halpern
Arthur Reingold
Sharon Sagiv

Health Policy & Management
Joan Bloom
Jackie Brooks-Hanel
Robin Flagg
Paul Gertler
Anthony Iton
Kimberly MacPherson
Iman Nazeeri-Simmons
James Robinson
Hector Rodriguez
Richard Scheffler
Stephen Shortell
Harry Snyder

Infectious Disease & Vaccinology/Infectious Diseases & Immunity
Gertrude Buehring
Binh Diep
Anke Hemmerling
Phuoc Lee
Fenyong Liu
Kathy Loretz
Sangwei Lu
Lee Riley
Sarah Stanley
John Swartzberg

On-Campus/Online MPH
Sonya Dublin

UC Berkeley-UCSF Joint Medical Program 
Colette Auerswald
Lela Bachrach
John Balmes
Hana Dan-Cohen
Jodi Halpern
Susan Ivey
Kris Madsen
Guy Micco
Richard Quint
Jeff Schonberg
Karen Sokal-Gutierrez
Judi Stanton
John Swartzberg